January 21st, 2022 Dr. Juan Martin Palomo

COUNCIL ON SCIENTIFIC AFFAIRS REPORT

The Council on Scientific Affairs (COSA) met via Zoom on January 7, 2022.

COSA reviewed 27 applications for the Hellman, Sicher, and Graber Awards. The following are the 2022 AAO Research Awards winners:

Milo Hellman Research Award to Dr. Mona Hamoda from the University of British Columbia for research titled: Continuous positive airway pressure, mandibular advancement splints or both: a randomized controlled trial

Harry Sicher Research Award to Dr. Amanda Gross from Texas A&M University for research titled: Short-term effects of mechanical loading on the transdifferentiation of condylar chondrocytes

Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit to:

Dr. Po-Jung Chen from University of Connecticut for research titled: Investigating PRG4 re-expression as a treatment for TMJ degenerative diseases

Dr. Steven LeRoy from Texas A&M University for research titled: Treatment of white spot lesions with MI paste plus, with and without microabrasion: a split-mouth, randomized clinical trial

Dr. Ali Ghowsi from University of the Pacific for research titled: Accuracy and reliability of a fully automated landmark identification system on cone beam computed tomography

Dr. Shivam Mehta from University of Connecticut for research titled: How does Alendronate affect orthodontic tooth movement in osteogenesis imperfecta: an in-vivo study on a mice model

The Hellman, Sicher, Graber lectures will be held at Annual Session on Saturday, May 21, 2022 from 1:00pm-3:00pm. Prior to the Hellman lecture at 1:00pm, the award winners will receive their award plaques. COSA invites all Annual Session attendees to come and listen to these award-winning lectures.

The 2023 Hellman, Sicher, Graber online application will be available on March 15, 2022. The deadline to apply is October 1, 2022.

COSA accepted 28 Oral Research applications, 270 E-Poster applications and 29 Table Clinic applications to be presented at the 2022 AAO Annual Session. The Oral Research presentations will be held at Annual Session on Monday, May 23, 2022 from

8:00am - 3:45pm. The Table Clinic program will be held at Annual Session on Sunday, May 22, 2022 from 9:30am-11:30am. COSA will judge the Table Clinics and award the Joseph E. Johnson Clinical Award.

There will be no hard copies of Posterboards displayed at Annual Session. E-Posters will be available for viewing during Annual Session in the Exhibit Hall and until July 31, 2022 on the AAO website.

COSA is accepting applications for the 2022 William R. Proffit Resident Scholar Award program to be held at the 2022 AAO Annual Session. The online application can be found on the AAO website. The deadline to apply for this program is February 1, 2022. COSA members will judge this program on Saturday, May 21, 2022. The awards will be given during the open hour of the program from 1:00pm-2:00pm on May 21.

COSA members are serving on two AAO task forces. Drs. Onur Kadioglu, Greg Huang and Kelton Stewart are on the COVID-19 Task Force. Drs. Onur Kadioglu and J. Martin Palomo are on the World Sleep Society Task Force.

COSA will meet during Annual Session. COSA meets every January by Zoom. The next Zoom meeting is scheduled for January 6, 2023.

For any questions/suggestions, email Juan Martin Palomo at palomo@case.edu