October 29, 2019 Dr. Juan Martin Palomo

## **COUNCIL ON SCIENTIFIC AFFAIRS REPORT**

COSA held a meeting on May 3, 2019 at the AAO Annual Session. During Annual Session, COSA members judged 39 Charley Schultz Resident Scholar presentations and 40 Table Clinic presentations. COSA members moderated 28 Oral Research presentations and the Hellman, Sicher, Graber lectures. 380 E-Posters were available for viewing during Annual Session.

The 2019 Charley Schultz Resident Scholar Award winners are:



From left to right:
Dr. Karanth, Dr. Azami,
Dr. Crouch, Dr. Zhang,
Dr. Borth, Dr. Lanier
Zaytoun, Dr. Orabi,
Dr. Larson

Basic Science Research

1st place: Spencer Crouch – University of Michigan; Research titled: Local vs. systemic effects of TNAP on osteoblast differentiation and bone formation

2nd place: Niloufar Azami – University of Connecticut; Research titled: The effects of Raloxifene on bone remodeling and orthodontic relapse

3rd place: Divakar Karanth – University of Kentucky; Research titled: Developing and evaluating scaffold for alveolar bone regeneration

## Clinical Research

1st place: Noha Orabi – Case Western Reserve University; Research titled: Pharyngeal airway volumetric changes after orthodontic extraction: a systematic review with meta-analysis

2nd place: Mary Lanier Zaytoun – University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill; Research titled: Machine learning algorithms: a new approach to the extraction decision

3rd place: Mason Borth – University of Texas - Houston; Research titled: Impact of resin composite type on Invisalign attachment wear

3<sup>rd</sup> place: Boshi Zhang - University of California - Los Angeles; Research titled: Objective and subjective airway improvement via treatment with maxillary skeletal expander

The 2019 Joseph E. Johnson Clinical Award for Table Clinics winners are:



From left to right: Dr. Lathrop, Dr. Roy, Dr. Chartrand

Hillary Lathrop – University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill; Research title: Orthognathic speech pathology: understanding how Class III jaw disharmonies influence speech

Annie Roy – Université de Montréal; Research title: Dental malocclusion among children with attention deficit and hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)

Daniel Chartrand – Tri-Service Orthodontic Residency Program; Research title: Change in mandibular incisor facial bone thickness following non-surgical Class II correction with a coil spring appliance

Applications are being accepted for the 2020 Milo Hellman Research Award, the Harry Sicher Research Award and the Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit. Applications for these awards can be found on the 2020 Annual Session website - <a href="https://www.aaoinfo.org/meetings/event-page/annual-session-2020-atlanta-ga/hellman-sicher-graber-awards/">https://www.aaoinfo.org/meetings/event-page/annual-session-2020-atlanta-ga/hellman-sicher-graber-awards/</a>. Only the online application will be accepted for these awards. The application deadline is 6:00pm EDT on October 1, 2019.

COSA will be accepting online applications to present Oral Research, Table Clinics and E-Posters at the 2020 AAO Annual Session starting the first week of August 2019. The application deadline is 6:00pm EDT on October 15, 2019.

COSA will be accepting online applications for the AAO Resident Scholar Award (formerly known as the Charley Schultz Resident Scholar Award) presentations at the 2020 AAO Annual Session starting the first week of December 2019. The first forty residents who apply for the program are accepted. The application deadline has been changed to 6:00pm EST on February 1, 2020.

The 2019-2020 members of COSA are:

Dr. Onur Kadioglu, chair (SWSO)

Dr. Michael Duryea (RMSO)

Dr. James Mah (PCSO)

Dr. Steven Marshall (MSO)

Dr. J. Martin Palomo (GLAO)

Dr. Dr. Emile Rossouw (NESO)

Dr. Dina Stappert (MASO)

Dr. Eser Tufekci (SAO)

Dr. Rolf Behrents (Trustee Liaison)

COSA's next meeting is January 10, 2020 via video conferencing.

For any questions/suggestions, please contact Juan Martin Palomo at palomo@case.edu