January 15, 2019 Dr. Juan Martin Palomo

COUNCIL ON SCIENTIFIC AFFAIRS REPORT

The Council on Scientific Affairs (COSA) met via videoconference on January 4, 2019.

COSA reviewed 24 applications for the Hellman, Sicher, and Graber Awards. The winners will present their lectures during Annual Session. The following are the 2019 AAO Research Awards winners:

Milo Hellman Research Award to Dr. Karthikeyan Subramani from Roseman University of Health Sciences for research titled: In vitro evaluation of antimicrobial activity of chlorhexidine hexametaphosphate nanoparticle coatings on elastomeric chains

Harry Sicher Research Award to Dr. Joy Chang from the University of Connecticut for research titled: Injectable RANKL sustained release formulations to accelerate orthodontic tooth movement

Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit to:

Dr. Yina Li from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill for research titled: The role of autophagy during orthodontic tooth movement

Dr. Chenshuang Li from the University of California - Los Angeles for research titled: Neural EGFL like 1 as an anti-inflammatory disease-modifying anti-arthritic drug

Dr. Justine Tanjaya from the University of California - Los Angeles for research titled: The delicate balance between BMP2-mediated osteogenesis and adipogenesis for critical-size bone defect healing

Dr. Brandon Shoukri from the University of Michigan for research titled: Minimally invasive approach in predicting TMJ osteoarthritis: evaluating biomarkers and integrating a neural network

The 2020 Hellman, Sicher, Graber online application will be available on March 15, 2019. The deadline to apply is October 1, 2019.

COSA accepted 28 Oral Research applications, 458 E-Poster applications and 40 Table Clinic applications to be presented at the 2019 AAO Annual Session. There will be no hard copies of Posterboards displayed at Annual Session. E-Posters will be available for viewing during the Annual Session and for two months after Annual Session on the AAO website.

COSA is accepting applications for the 2019 Charley Schultz Resident Scholar Award program to be held at the 2019 AAO Annual Session. The online application can be found on the AAO website. The deadline to apply for this program is February 15, 2019.

COSA continues to review published evidence based orthodontic research. Appropriate article citations are being added to the Evidence Based Orthodontic Research Resource Center on a regular basis. The Evidence Based Orthodontic Research Resource Center is on the AAO Library webpage. Also in the resource center area of the AAO Library webpage is the CBCT Resource Center and the Bisphosphonate Resource Center.

COSA's next meeting is on Friday, May 3, 2019 prior to the start of Annual Session. During Annual Session, COSA members will be involved with judging the Charley Schultz Resident Scholar Award presentations, judging the Table Clinics and awarding the Joseph E. Johnson Table Clinic Award and moderating the Hellman, Sicher, Graber Award lectures and the Oral Research presentations.

COSA meets every January by videoconference. The next videoconference meeting is scheduled for January 10, 2020.

For any questions/suggestions, please contact Juan Martin Palomo at palomo@case.edu